Former Iowa wrestler Ned Shuck named head coach at Wisconsin-Whitewater

The former Hawkeye wrestler who coached the Auggies, then the Student Princes, is now in charge of the wrestling Warhawks. Ned Shuck, who wrestled at the University of Iowa, then served as an assistant at Augsburg before taking the helm at Heidelberg University, is now the head wrestling coach at University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, the school announced Monday.   [Read More]

Peacock Wrestling Releases 2014-15 Schedule

Upper Iowa will open their season at home with a pair of duals on Nov. 6 and cap off their season in St. Louis at the NCAA Championships. The Peacock wrestling program led by Head Coach Heath Grimm, who enters his 15th season with the team, has released their 2014-15 schedule which will be capped [Read More]

World Championships preview in freestyle wrestling at 86 kg

VIDEO: Ed Ruth vs. Taymuraz Friev (Spain) at Beat the Streets DualEd Ruth will compete in his first World Championships on Sept. 8 in Tashkent, Uzbekistan. USAW file photo.Date of competition: Monday, Sept. 8Russia’s Abdul Rashid Sadulaev has become the story of this weight class.And what an amazing story it is.Sadulaev, a 2012 and 2013 Cadet [Read More]

Tom Brands, Cael Sanderson named 2014 U.S. Men’s Freestyle World Team Coaches

Tom Brands of Iowa City, Iowa and Cael Sanderson of State College, Pa. have been named as volunteer U.S. Freestyle World Team Coaches for the 2014 World Wrestling Championships in Tashkent, Uzbekistan. The men’s wrestling competition is September 8-9.They will work with National Freestyle Coach Bruce Burnett, Assistant National Freestyle Coaches Bill Zadick and Brandon [Read More]

USA Wrestling Calls on Brands for World Championships

IOWA CITY, Iowa – USA Wrestling announced Thursday that University of Iowa head coach Tom Brands has been named a U.S. Freestyle volunteer coach for the 2014 World Wrestling Championships in Tashkent, Uzbekistan. The men’s wrestling competition is September 8-9. Penn State’s Cael Sanderson was appointed to the same position. They will work with national freestyle Coach Bruce [Read More]

Jackson Adds Paulson, Escobedo To ISU Wrestling Staff

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State head wrestling coach Kevin Jackson announced two additions to his coaching staff this afternoon in Trent Paulson and Angel Escobedo. Both Paulson and Escobedo bring impressive resumes to the Cyclone staff. “I’m really excited to have these two outstanding young men on our staff,” Jackson said. “They have great experience [Read More]

Five to be Inducted into the Loras College Athletics Hall of Fame

Ricky Casarez, Class of 1998, WrestlingThe transition from warm and scenic Florida isn’t one that many people make, but for Ricky Casarez, it was a decision that paid its dividends.Casarez wrestled for two seasons at Iowa Central Community College. It was here that the Florida native caught the attention of Loras Wrestling Head Coach Randy Steward.In [Read More]

Dan Gable Museum releases limited edition Dan Gable singlet

WATERLOO, Iowa—The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum has released a limited edition singlet to commemorate the legacy of Dan Gable. Gable won the 1972 Munich Olympics without surrendering a point and coached the Hawkeyes to 15 NCAA team titles in 21 seasons of coaching (1977-1997).   This is the third in a [Read More]

Jake Varner, shown competing on way to 2012 Olympic gold medal, will compete at the World Championships at 96 kg in men’s freestyle. Photos by John Sachs, The U.S. World Wrestling Teams in the three Olympic styles are completing their domestic training in preparation for the 2014 World Wrestling Championships in Tashkent, Uzbekistan, Sept. [Read More]

Jon Reader named assistant coach at South Dakota State

South Dakota State head wrestling coach Chris Bono announced the hiring of Jon Reader as an assistant coach.“I am extremely fired up that Jon will be joining our program,” Bono said. “He brings a work ethic and passion for our department that is unmatched. His personality and lifestyle fits perfect with what we are trying [Read More]