Weatherspoon Advances to Day Two at NCAAs

By Brad DePrez - Iowa State University
Lelund Weatherspoon (Iowa State) won by decision over Peter Galli (Stanford) (Dec 3-1)

Lelund Weatherspoon (Iowa State) won by decision over Peter Galli (Stanford) (Dec 3-1)

ST. LOUIS, Mo. – Redshirt senior Lelund Weatherspoon advanced to day two of the 2017 NCAA Championships. On Thursday, he posted a 1-1 record with a first round victory over Stanford's Peter Galli, 3-1.

After two sessions of action, the Cyclones are tied for 56th as a team. Defending national champion, Penn State, paces the field with 30.5 team points.

The NCAA Wrestling Championships continue tomorrow morning with quarterfinal and consolation round action. Session III begins at 10 a.m. CT.

Session II

In round two, No. 14 Weatherspoon took on Ohio State's No. 3 Bo Jordan in a battle of 2016 All Americans. Heading to the third period, Weatherspoon trailed 5-2. An early escape to open the period put Weathespoon within striking distance of the Buckeye. However, Jordan closed the door with a pair of takedowns to advance to the quarterfinals over Weatherspoon, 10-4.

Stanford's Connor Schram knocked off No. 13 Earl Hall in the 133-pound consolation bracket by 6-5 decision. The loss marks the end of a terrific career for Hall. He finishes tied for 33rd in Iowa State history for career wins (103), as well as earning All-America honors two times.

Marcus Harrington was eliminated from the championships, falling to Stanford's Benjamin Honis, 11-2.

Session I

In the opening session of the 2017 NCAAs, Iowa State posted 1-2 record. No. 14 Weatherspoon held the lone Cyclone victory.

In a tightly contested match at 174 pounds, Weatherspoon notched a go-ahead takedown with less than 20 seconds on the clock. He was able to ride out Stanford's Peter Galli to earn a 3-1 decision.

No. 13 Hall and Harrington both dropped their opening matches. Hall fell to Princeton's Dat D'Arcy, 8-1, while Harrington lost to No. 6 Preston Weigel of Oklahoma State, 7-0.

Match by Match Results

133: Pat D'Arcy (PRIN) dec. No. 13 Earl Hall, 8-1.

Connor Schram (STAN) dec. No. 13 Earl Hall, 6-5.

174: No. 14 Lelund Weatherspoon dec. Peter Galli (STAN), 3-1.

No. 3 Bo Jordan (OHST) dec. No. 14 Lelund Weatherspoon, 10-4.

197: No. 6 Preston Weigel (OKST) dec. Marcus Harrington, 7-0.

Benjamin Honis (CORN) maj. dec. Marcus Harrington, 11-2.