First ever Dan Gable Museum Classic to be held June 19-21

By Kyle Klingman Director National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum

Dan Gable Museum Classic.jpg

WATERLOO, Iowa—The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum will host the first Dan Gable Museum Classic on June 19-21 in Waterloo, Iowa. The Gable Museum Classic is a three-day training camp that will have clinics for all three styles of wrestling—Greco-Roman, freestyle, and folkstyle.

Each day will feature a teaching clinic in the morning followed by lunch and team building and round-robin dual competition in the afternoon. Athletes will be taught drilling techniques in each style and will then have an opportunity to use what they have learned in live competition. All activities will be held at the Cedar Valley Sportsplex and the Dan Gable Museum.

Clinicians will be Brett Robbins for Greco-Roman, Tolly Thompson for freestyle and Jim Miller for folkstyle. Certified referees will manage afternoon dual meets, and an Outstanding Wrestler award will be presented each day for each style.

"The Dan Gable Museum Classic is a special wrestling event for high school wrestlers," said Dan Gable, 1972 Olympic champion and namesake of the museum. "We want participants to experience the sport of wrestling through a uniquely focused educational experience that combines instruction with preparation and competition."

The camp is limited to six high school wrestling teams. Contact Kyle Klingman at the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum at or (319) 233-0745 for more information.

Schedule and Clinicians
June 19
Brett Robbins
-Assistant Wrestling Coach at Northern Iowa
-2006 Greco-Roman Junior World Team member
-Two-time Greco-Roman Junior National champion (2004-05)
-3-year letter winner at Northern Iowa

June 20
Clinician: Tolly Thompson
-Bronze medalist at the 2005 World Championships
-1995 NCAA champion for Nebraska
-3x All-American for Nebraska (1995-97)
-3x Big 12 champion for Nebraska (1995-97)

June 21
Clinician: Jim Miller
-10x NCAA championship coach for Wartburg
-21 consecutive conference championships for Wartburg (1993-2013)
-2x Division II NCAA champion for Northern Iowa (1974-75)
-2x Division I NCAA All-American for Northern Iowa (1974-75)