2017 Kids Freestyle and Greco-Roman Nationals set for Atlanta, Georgia, June 29-30


This is the national championship in the Olympic styles for the Kids divisions of Schoolboy/girl (13-14 years), Novice (11-12 years) and Intermediate (9-10 years).

This will be the first year that Atlanta has hosted this major event, the eighth city to serve as the host, and the first time it has been hosted in the Eastern time zone.

Up for grabs is the coveted USA Wrestling Kids Triple Crown, which is given to any wrestler who wins USA Wrestling national titles in folkstyle, freestyle and Greco-Roman during the same year.

Winners in these age-groups from the 2017 USA Wrestling Folkstyle Nationals, held in Cedar Falls, Iowa from March 31-April 2, will be eligible to pursue the Kids Triple Crown this year.

Twelve talented wrestlers were awarded 2016 Kids Triple Crowns: Hudson Rogers of Idaho (Intermediate 87), Draven Woods of Iowa (Intermediate 112), Gabriel Kaminski of Illinois (Intermediate 120+), Avery Allen of Montana (Novice 80), Colton Garibaldi of Montana (Novice 130), Quentin Saunders of Kansas (Novice 140), Amit Elor of California (Novice 140+), Carson Manville of Virginia (Schoolboy 120), Alex Facundo of Michigan (Schoolboy 136), Tyler Hanna of Wisconsin (Schoolboy 175), Dominik Vacura of Minnesota (Schoolboy 190), and Cody Pearson of Kansas (Schoolboy 265).

Many of the athletes expected to participate and challenge for All-American honors were successful at the USA Wrestling’s Regional Championships, held across the nation throughout the spring and early summer. The list of 2017 Regional Champions on the Kids level will be posted this week.

Greco-Roman competition will be held Thursday, June 29, with the freestyle competition on Friday, June 30.

In addition to the three national championship age-groups, a Bantam Festival will be held in both styles.

This year, TrackCast will be providing live coverage of all the mats at the ASICS USA Wrestling Kids National Freestyle and Greco-Roman Nationals.

at Atlanta, Georgia June 29-30

Event Schedule and list of Last years Champions