SB-L crowns four champions, finishes second to Ankeny

By Sioux City Journal Staff

ATLANTIC, Iowa | Ankeny narrowly beat Sergeant Bluff-Luton for the team title at the Rollin Dyer Invite on Saturday 234-231.5. Alta-Aurelia finished 10th while Denison-Schleswig was 11th.

The Warriors had four champions beginning with Nate Curry at 113 pounds as he earned a 9-1 major decision over Riley Anderson of Bondurant-Farrar in the finals.

Seventh-ranked Jake Gaukel made it two in a row for SB-L when he earned a 5-2 decision over Ankeny's Derek Anderson at 120. Fourth-ranked Easton Graff needed just 31 seconds to pin Tipton's Brenden Leeper to take the 138 crown. Senior Alex Freiberg captured the title at 160 with a pin in 3:26 over Southwest Valley's Dylan Dalton.

Ethan Kempema finished as the runner-up at 132 as he fell 18-5 to Atlantic's Chase McLaren. Blake Liebe was third at 145.

Alta-Aurelia's sixth-ranked Nick Gaes pinned Denison-Schleswig's Jaden Heiden in 3:45 to win at 220.
1 Ankeny  234.
02 Sergeant Bluff-Luton 231.5
3 Humboldt 187.5
4 Atlantic 177.0
5 AHSTW 134.5
6 Red Oak 128.0
7 Bondurant-Farrar 96.0
7 Tipton 96.0
9 Southwest Valley 85.0
10 Alta-Aurelia 73.0
11 Denison-Schleswig 29.0
12 Griswold 28.0

Click Here to Continue Reading Article