Wartburg with Four Champions at Buena Vista Open

STORM LAKE, Iowa-- The No. 2 Wartburg wrestling team had four champions at the Buena Vista Open Saturday: Brady Kyner (125), Cross Cannone (157), Mike Ross (165), and Kyle Briggs (174).

Kyner won by fall at 1:12 against Carter Cox of Ellsworth. No. 2 Cannone won by injury default against Tyson Dowler, who was unattached. No. 3 Ross won by 4-1 decision against Kenny O'Neil, who was unattached from South Dakota State (NCAA DI). No. 6 Briggs won by tech fall (20-2) against Zach Johnston of Minnesota State Mankato (DII).

Cannone increased his winning streak to 44, which dates back to the NCAA Championship match in 2017. He has now won all but one of his matches this season by bonus points.

Ross moved his winning streak to 10. Briggs has now won his last four-straight matches and all by bonus points.

The Knights return to the mat Friday when they host Cornell at 7 p.m.