Seeds And Brackets Announced for Iowa State


Willie Miklus

AMES, Iowa – The NCAA announced the seeds and brackets for the 2019 NCAA Wrestling Championships today. One change the committee made this year was seeding the entire field, 1-33.

Three Cyclones earned top-10 seeds for Pittsburgh. Three-time All American Willie Miklus is the top-seeded ISU wrestler, coming in at No. 6 at 197 pounds. Iowa State's lone 2018 NCAA qualifier Jarrett Degen is seeded No. 8 at 149 pounds and Sam Colbray checks in at No. 10 at 184 pounds.

Austin Gomez will be wrestling in the loaded 133-pound bracket as the 13 seed. Ian Parker is slated at No. 17 at 141 pounds and Alex Mackall cracks the top-20, seeded No. 20 at 125 pounds.

Marcus Coleman earned the No. 21 seed at 174 pounds. 157-pound Big 12 champion Chase Straw is seeded No. 23 and heavyweight Gannon Gremmel enters the national championships as the No. 26 seed.

The NCAA Championships are set to begin next Thursday, March 21 and will be wrestled through March 23 at PPG Points Arena in Pittsburgh, Pa. Morning sessions will be broadcast on ESPNU, with evening sessions on ESPN. As always, every match from every mat will be streamed on WatchESPN.

NCAA Championship Schedule (Times CST)
Thursday – Session I, 11 a.m. (ESPNU) | Session II, 6 p.m. (ESPN)
Friday – Session III, 10 a.m. (ESPNU) | Session IV, 7 p.m. (ESPN)
Saturday – Session V, 10 a.m. (ESPNU) | Session VI 6 p.m. (ESPN)

First Round Matchups
125: No. 20 Alex Mackall v. No. 13 Drew Hildenbrant (CMU)
133: No. 13 Austin Gomez v. No. 20 Brandon Paetzell (Lehigh)
141: No. 17 Ian Parker v. No. 16 Chad Red (Nebraska)
149: No. 8 Jarrett Degen v. No. 25 Russel Rohlfing (CSU-Bakersfield)
157: No. 23 Chase Straw v. No. 10 Steve Bleise (Minnesota)
174: No. 21 Marcus Coleman v. No. 12 Matt Finesilver (Duke)
184: No. 10 Sam Colbray v. No. 23 Jackson Hemauer (Fresno State)
197: No. 6 Willie Miklus v. No. 27 Josh Roetman (Navy)
285: No. 26 Gannon Gremmel v. No. 7 Trent Hillger (Wisconsin)