Schwarm Named NCAA Fall Award Winner

By Jerek Wolcott Assistant Athletic Director of Communications

INDIANAPOLIS - UNI senior 125-pound wrestler Jay Schwarm was named the NCAA Division I Fall Award winner after leading the NCAA with 16 Division I falls, two more than the second-place Ben Darmstadt of Cornel and Central Michigan's Matt Stencel who finished the year with 14.

Schwarm also tallied a non-DI fall to bring his yearly total to 17. He closed the shortened season with a 21-10 record and earned pins over four members of the NCAA field.

He recorded double-digit pins each of the last three seasons with 15 during the 2017-18 season and 12 during the 2018-19 season.

Schwarm recorded 52 career pins, which puts him fifth on the all-time list. With the cancelation of the NCAA Championship, he missed out on the opportunity to move up the list. John Kriebs finished his career with 53 career pins and sits fourth all-time, Rich Powers is third with 54 career pins and Justin Greenlee is second on the list with 57 career pins.

Kirk Myers is the UNI all-time pin leader with 61 career pins.