Brands brothers endorse NCAA women’s wrestling

IOWA CITY — The United States is in perfect position when it comes to women’s wrestling. Last summer, Helen Maroulis became the country’s first Olympic gold medalist in women’s wrestling, raising the bar to a new level. Now, the push is on to get the NCAA to add women’s wrestling to its Emerging Sports Status. [Read More]

Rachel Dreeszen makes meteoric rise through wrestling ranks

KINGSLEY — Rachel Dreeszen had never wrestled a match in her life. The thought had never even crossed her mind. That is until late November when a friend and classmate at Kingsley-Pierson High School, Shae Muecke, asked her to join her on the Panthers’ team. Muecke’s parents were not allow her to wrestle unless there [Read More]

UNI’s Steiert is all business all the time

CEDAR FALLS — University of Northern Iowa sophomore Bryce Steiert is all business when he steps on the wrestling mat. He has two NCAA Championships appearances to drive home that point. Steiert is also all business in the classroom, as his 3.21 grade-point average in business management will attest. So the way Steiert figures it, [Read More]

Agony In Ames Matchup: Andrew Chambal vs Cullan Schriever

Entering its second year, Agony in Ames is putting together a star-studded lineup. The first matchup has been locked in for October 21 in Ames, Iowa, and it will be a battle of Fargo finalists. Andrew Chambal of Michigan will take on Cullan Schriever of Iowa at 106 pounds. Schriever wrestled in this event last year and is currently ranked No. [Read More]

Why football coaches covet wrestlers

If it’s a Friday night, or Saturday morning in the fall, there is one place Jeff Wichern loves to be, other than inside a wrestling room. And that’s at a football field, watching wrestlers he currently coaches, or has coached in the past. Wichern owns and operates the JJ Trained Wrestling School in Eden Prairie, [Read More]

USA Wrestling helps lead strong coalition pursuing NCAA Emerging Sports Status for women’s wrestling

USA Wrestling is proud to help lead a coalition of major wrestling organizations which worked together to submit a proposal to the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) seeking Emerging Sports Status for women’s wrestling. Working side-by-side with the U.S. Olympic Committee, Wrestle Like A Girl, the National Wrestling Coaches Association and the National Wrestling Hall [Read More]

Seven U.S. women find spot in pre-World Championships UWW World Rankings

Photo: U.S. World Team member Victoria Anthony in action at the U.S. World Team Trials. Photo by Tony Rotundo, Seven U.S. women are present in the latest installment of the United World Wrestling World Rankings distributed in advance of the World Championships to be held in Paris, France at the end of August. Five [Read More]

Brands lends support to getting NCAA to recognize women’s wrestling

Count Tom Brands among those who support efforts to have the NCAA recognize women’s wrestling. The head wrestling coach at University of Iowa has sent a letter to the NCAA, backing the idea that women’s wrestling should be an officially sanctioned sport just like men’s wrestling. In his letter, Brands outlined “Iowa’s storied wrestling legacy,” [Read More]

Greco-Roman wraps up 2017 Junior World Championships for USA

Photo: Randon Miranda at the 2017 Junior World Championships. Photo by Richard Immel. VIDEO: Junior World Championships interviews TAMPERE, Finland – The U.S. Greco-Roman Junior World Team wrapped up its 2017 Junior World Championships on Sunday afternoon in Tampere, Finland. Overall the U.S. Greco team had one of its best performances in recent memory, sending two [Read More]